Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Safety measures when working with electronics?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jenniferluce

Apr 8, 2015
I've recently gotten interested in electronics but I have no one nearby thats experienced with it to help me. I was just wondering what safety measures should I pay attention to?

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
  1. Pick up the correct end of the soldering iron
  2. Don't work with dangerous voltages
  3. Beware stored charge on capacitors
  4. Beware hot components
  5. Don't eat and solder (wash hands well before touching food)
  6. If anything smokes, don't inhale it.
  7. Watch for ends of wires you clip off. They can go in the most unfortunate places.
  8. Don't get things (especially hot things like solder) in your eyes.

jenniferluce

Apr 8, 2015
well ok i understand. But during work how can i care about many things? ell you points is really very awesome for any electronics engineer .But I am in learning period. I saw my teachers is very care full while he teach us electronics particles.
Now I think I am coming on the right place. So hope you help me in my problems. thanks a lot Steve :)

KMoffett

Jan 21, 2009
When working with higher voltages (>48V), keep one hand in your pocket. I know that sounds silly, but it can save you life. The idea is that in case you inadvertently touch a high voltage source, there won't be a path across your chest, through you heart, to the low side of the source or ground. I violated that twice, and paid for it. :(

Ken

shrtrnd

Jan 15, 2010
Everything above is good advice for personal safety.
I want to add that you need to be aware of the safety of the small electronic components that you'll probably be working with.
Higher voltages are dangerous to people, but static electricity is dangerous to semiconductor electronic parts.
I don't know what you plan to work with, but you should be aware of ESD (etectrostatic sensitive devices), and can look that up on-line.