Connect with us

Running a 6V DC Motor on 0-30V variable supply?

Discussion in 'Sensors and Actuators' started by rbatty91, Nov 18, 2013.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. rbatty91

rbatty91

Nov 18, 2013
    Hi Everyone,

I'm fairly new to electronics and have a project I'm working on.

I have a DC motor that I need to run from a few revs to 2000 rpm (unloaded).
    The motor reaches 2000 rpm at 6V and draws 30mA.

Now, if I want to be able to use the full range of voltage of my variable supply from 0 - 30V to control the motor's speed could I simply place a resistor in series to drop the voltage applied to the motor?

If so is it simply a case of applying ohms law to the circuit to calculate the required resistance value?

Thanks for your help in advance.

Richard.

2. Boltar

Boltar

Nov 18, 2013
    If the motor draws 30mA at 6V then it has a load of 200 ohms. To reduce 30v to 6v you'd need a 4:1 ratio, so you'd have to put 800 ohms in series.with the supply.

3. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    Ignoring for a moment that PWM would probably be more effective, varying the voltage between 0 and 6 volts will have reasonable effect.

Varying the voltage from the power supply works because the power supply has a low output impedance. As you load the motor, the power supply can increase the current and the voltage across the motor stays fixed.

If you put a resistor in series with the motor so that (say) the motor when unloaded has 6v across it and the resistor has 24v, then loading the motor has a perverse effect. Let's assume the motor wants 10% more current. That means 10% more current flows through the resistor, so it drops 10% more voltage. It now drops 26.4v. That only leaves 3.6v for the motor. The power to the motor has fallen! That pretty much means the motor is going to stall very easily.

So a resistor in series is a bad thing and probably won't meet your needs if there is a variable load.