Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Running 3A component from two 2As?

jadical

Jun 11, 2016
So I'm a complete electronics beginner, and I'm just wondering if there's a simple way (i.e. some kind of ready-made adapter) to somehow get 3A out of my cell phone charger/battery bank, which has only two 2A USB outputs.

I also have a tiny 80mA component that I want to run from the battery, so I need to somehow take the 1A I have remaining, and step it down to 80mA, if all this makes sense

Is this remotely feasible for a beginner? and thanks

HellasTechn

Apr 14, 2013
to somehow get 3A out of my cell phone charger/battery bank, which has only two 2A USB outputs.
That is not possible because the charger you use is (most probably) rated 2A total current output capacity not 2A per usb port.
I also have a tiny 80mA component that I want to run from the battery, so I need to somehow take the 1A I have remaining, and step it down to 80mA, if all this makes sense

You do not need to step down anything. The 2A stated on your power source (the charger in this case) means that it can deliver up to 2 amps for a device to work or a battery to charge on the other hand your 80ma rated device only draws 80ma from above stated current. So you are just fine.

In other words and according to ohms law the devices only draw the current they need at a given voltage no matter the source's current capacity as long as it is larger that what they need.

You want your power source to be "strong" enough and in general terms the stronger the better.

jadical

Jun 11, 2016
You do not need to step down anything. The 2A stated on your power source (the charger in this case) means that it can deliver up to 2 amps for a device to work or a battery to charge on the other hand your 80ma rated device only draws 80ma from above stated current. So you are just fine.