Connect with us

RPM sensor for rotating shaft

Discussion in 'Sensors and Actuators' started by Jeroen Humasol, Nov 8, 2015.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Jeroen Humasol

Jeroen Humasol

Nov 8, 2015
    Hello everyone,

I'm a student working on an Electric Load Controller (ELC), for a water turbine in Peru. If you know ELC's already you can skip this part of the post i'll just explain it quickly :)

(ELC: An ELC is a devise that balances the production and consumation of electrical energy in an isolated power grid. A group of engineering students who went to the peru a few years ago made a water powered turbine (5kW), to give the people of an isolated mountain village acces to electricity (mainly used for lighting). The problem with this turbine is that during daytime little energy is consumed and the generator experiences almost no 'counter torque'. As a result the turbine starts to speed up, hereby generating a huge centrifugal force that tears the turbine apart and greatly reduces the lifespan. An other problem with the turbine and generator when the RPM is to high, is that the voltage on the net goes beyond the required 220V. Therefor we made an ELC. The working of this device is quite simple: it measures the frequency of the AC voltage on the net (should always be 60Hz). When the frequency goes beyond the 60Hz it activates a simple resistance R. This resistance dissipates part of the generated energy as heat. The resistance is cooled by water. When the net frequency goes back to 60Hz the resistance is switched off.)