Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Rotary Tool Power Cord Resistors

Terry Masri

Nov 15, 2017
Hi everyone! First time here. I have an Einhell (German brand) rotary tool that stopped working recently. After cracking the case open I discovered that the the hot wire in the power cord broke on the inside of the tool before the power switch button. Easy fix I thought until I discovered that both the neutral and hot wires are each connected to a black cylinder before being connected to the power switch. I'm an absolute layman when it comes to electronics, but I'm assuming that these black cylinders are in fact resistors even though they have no markings on them whatsoever typical of all the resistors I've previously seen. The cylinder is covered with a very thin and tough black skin akin to heat-shrink tubing. After managing to peel off some of the skin, I noticed that there is a very thin copper wire wrapped around a black cylinder, or carbon clay as I later discovered, confirming my suspicion that they are resistors of some sort. The hot wire somehow pulled out of the resistor and there's no way of soldering it back into the carbon clay cylinder. Now I've never seen such an arrangement in all the power tools I've repaired in the past, watching how-to YouTube videos and looking at hundreds of images on Google where the hot & neutral wires are usually connected directly to the power switch!

My question is, since it's not possible to determine the kind of resistors these are (no marking or writings whatsoever) in order to purchase a replacement, can I bypass these transistors without jeopardizing the tool or creating a safety hazard for myself? If not, how can I determine the type of resistors being used so I may shop for replacements?