Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Ring Counter

timothy48342

Nov 28, 2011
I'm no expert in this area, so I'm just musing a bit about how I THINK IT SHOULD work...

If you look at the diagram on page 4 of the pdf you linked. It seems like if you just connect the output "Od" to the "shift right serial input" and connect the output "Oa" to the "shift left serial input" it ought to work circularly. (basically the bit that would normally be discarded during a shift get routed back arround as if it was coming in as a new bit from the outside.)

--tim

Toraora

Mar 18, 2012
Thanks.

I got it to work (with one hitch) by connecting Od to the "S1" mode control input. The problem is that, when first powering the IC, all of the outputs start at 0, and the circuit does no good shifting around a bunch of zeroes. How can I get the register to automatically load a 1 into one of the outputs without manually detaching a wire?

timothy48342

Nov 28, 2011
um... S1 mode control and S0 mode control are the inputs that make the shifting take place arn't they? One would cause a shift left and the other a shift right? I would think you need those available to make the shifting happen. (without disconnecting a wire)

As fas as how to get the 4 bits of data in there in the first place, there are parallel inputs. A, B, C and D along the left side of the page 4 diagram. You would set those inputs each to a one or zero. (hi and lo?) and then "activate" the chip to read the 4 parallel inputs. (Sorry, I don't know how to "activate it") le' me go have another look...
--tim

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
how I THINK IT SHOULD work...

You think correctly.

Another thing that can be done is to pass the inverted output of a shift register back to the input. This makes a totally different device, a "twisted ring counter". Also a very interesting device (for a whole host of reasons)