Connect with us

RF receiver circuit

Discussion in 'Radio and Wireless' started by minh2211, Sep 29, 2015.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. minh2211

minh2211

Sep 29, 2015
    Hi, Im new to RF system design. I have a couple of questions regarding to it

In RF receiver, why people put bandpass filter before LNA? Also if I have RF signal at 100 MHz, what should be the bandwidth of the bandpass filter?

Why high order of filter is necessary in RF systems?

2. AnalogKid

AnalogKid

Jun 10, 2015
    An input bandpass filter reduces the chance of an input overload by a strong signal at another frequency.

What is the bandwidth of the signal you want to recover and demodulate?

High order filters have steep attenuation curves, which are necessary for selectivity.

ak

3. minh2211

minh2211

Sep 29, 2015
    Thanks for your reply. I slowly understand things now. Ive been reading through a book. It says RF design requires impedance matching.
    Lets say my RF source at input has 50ohms and it goes through some blocks of circuit such as BPF, LNA, mixers, oscillator before giving output. How can i make sure the impedance matching at input and output properly?

Do i have to match impedance at each block?

4. GPG

GPG

Sep 18, 2015
    What frequencies are you dealing with How about a bock diagram

5. Arouse1973

Arouse1973 Adam

Dec 18, 2013
    You have to choose a filter response before you can start to work on this. Then you can use specific filter tables and normalising techniques as one option.
    Adam

6. AnalogKid

AnalogKid

Jun 10, 2015