Connect with us

RF controller relay help

Discussion in 'Radio and Wireless' started by Henry Glen, Aug 30, 2015.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Henry Glen

Henry Glen

Aug 30, 2015
    Hi;

I'm not very tech savvy but I have been doing my research and reading about general electronics so that I can build a simple, RF controlled, valve-type device. Essentially, the issue that i have is that I have an RF transmitter and receiver. I am looking for some sort of a device (as small as possible) that will function like a switch once it receives the signal from the RF receiver (sent originally from the RF transmitter) to activate a very small motor which will turn a valve. The RF transmitter will be about a foot or two away. I was reading that an RF controller relay may be the answer but, if it is, I have some questions. Thanks for any help that you may provide. Sorry if my description is insufficient.

2. AnalogKid

AnalogKid

Jun 10, 2015
    There are many small remote control modules on ebay, some with 1 to 4 buttons and 1 to 4 relays. You don't give any details about voltages, currents, etc. But you can check them against the relay specs. If the relay can't handle it, use the remote control module relay to control a larger relay, and let that one control the motor.

ak

3. Old Steve

Old Steve

Jul 23, 2015
    What sort of RF transmitter and receiver do you have? Pics maybe?
    RF noise and false triggering are likely to be a problem.

You could use a PT2262 remote control encoder IC connected to the transmitter, which allows you to set an address code to avoid false triggering, then a PT2272 remote control decoder IC connected to the receiver, with it's code set to that of the transmitter. The PT2272 comes in several versions, both momentary or latching, with different numbers of data outputs - 0 data, 2 data, 3 data - - - - 6 data.