Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Review my circuit

Derftoy

May 9, 2012
Ok, I am a real noob and I am doing my best to learn on my own electronics. I am trying to create my first project without any guidance. I have an office and I want to create a simple motion detector where if someone walks through my front door it sounds a buzzer.

Now I have got this to work on my breadboard, but would like it if someone could look over my design and let me know if there are any potential problems.

I purchased the motion detector from here: http://www.adafruit.com/products/189

I am going to attempt to attach the PDF of my circuit design. I used iCircuit on the iPad to create it.

Not sure if the PDF upload worked on the iPad... So here is URL: https://www.dropbox.com/s/9qk0vrfsttrt4np/Untitled.pdf

Attachments

• Untitled.pdf
    29.5 KB · Views: 179
Last edited:

CocaCola

Apr 7, 2012
May I asked why you put a 100KΩ resistor on the GND of the PIR sensor? No need for it, remove it...

Also is that an NPN or PNP transistor? It's late and I'm about to go to bed (thus the brain is a little slow), but it appears the logic is reversed from what I see, the transistor is 'switching' the positive rail (nothing wrong with that) thus indicating a PNP... Your schematic indicates NPN though? The motion sensor sends signal + when detecting movement that would shut off the buzzer not turn it on if it was a PNP, but if it's an NPN it's in the wrong location and should be 'switching' GND...

Last edited:

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
hi there
welcome to the forums :)

not sure why you put the 100k resistor in the GND wire of the PIR board. ?
its not needed, take the GND wire of the PIR board direct to the negative of the battery
and put a ~ 220 Ohm to 1k resistor in the digital output line to the base of the transistor

cheers
Dave

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
haha cocacola
my response was drawn out as I was cooking dinner at the same time
as you can see i was asking the same thing