Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Resonance

Granpa

May 4, 2021
I wanna build a tank circuit That resonates at 7.86hz by using an inductor 50mH and capacitor 8200uF, I wanna tune the frequency between 5hz and 50hz or 100hz. What size variable capacitor should I use in parallel with the cap.? I'm a beginner so any input is welcome.

My goal is to monitor the Schumann wave and possibly amplify it.

Granpa

May 4, 2021
BTW I'm not that much of a beginner. I did my first audio amp in the late 70's and have an AS in Computer Tech And Electronics from Maui Community College around 1997. My last job before retiring was Computer network support...

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
Firstly: your 8200 µF capacitor would be an electrolytic capacitor. These are usually tolerated -20% ... + 50 % Also they have a considerable series resistance (ESR). Completely (my opinion) unsuitable for a reasonable LC filter.

But let's assume you had a perfect 8200 µF capacitor...
What size variable capacitor should I use in parallel with the cap.?
That would be one big capacitor...
For 5 Hz you'd need ~20000 µF.
For 50 Hz you'd need ~200 µF.
Since you want to use the variable capacitor in parallel to the fixed one, you'd use a fixed 200 µF capacitor and you'd require a 0 µF ... 20000 µF variable capacitor. You will not find such a beast.
Your 8200 µF capacitor will be useless above the 7.8 Hz you calculated as any other capacitor in parallel will increase the total capacitance and thus lower the frequency. Increasing the frequency is noz possible by paralleling capacitors.

For creating a reasonably accurate big capacitance, you can use a known good small capacitor plus an opamp to form a capacitance multiplier.
Another approach would be to use a fixed, known good capacitor of a small value plus a much larger inductor. Of course, a bigger inductor will be unwieldy. But rescue comes agian in the form of opamps. You can simulate a large inductance using capacitors, resistors and opamps.