Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Resistor calculation

ssm

Jan 25, 2016
Hello, everyone i'm new in electronics so i wanted to know when every time we use a resistor where it to place on the negative side or positive because i saw in many videos someone use on the negative and someone on the positive but which way the right way to use it negative side or positive side ?
Second thing if i know the supply voltage and i have potentiometer , led etc.. how can i find out what type of resistor i need 100ohm, 200ohm etc.. if someone can explain me thsnks very much

Last edited by a moderator:

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
Hi ssm
welcome to EP :)

If you are referring to using a current limiting resistor with a LED , although it doesn't matter if it goes in the neg or the pos side
it is standard practice to put it in the positive side

The resistor value depends on the voltage supply

here is a page on our www site that tells you how to calculate the resistor value

https://www.electronicspoint.com/resources/got-a-question-about-driving-leds.5/

cheers
Dave

elebish

Aug 16, 2013
Hello, everyone i'm new in electronics so i wanted to know when every time we use a resistor where it to place on the negative side or positive because i saw in many videos someone use on the negative and someone on the positive but which way the right way to use it negative side or positive side ?
Second thing if i know the supply voltage and i have potentiometer , led etc.. how can i find out what type of resistor i need 100ohm, 200ohm etc.. if someone can explain me thsnks very much

One must know the load you are connecting power to and the current that load will draw. You must also know the voltage. Voltage divided by resistance of load equals current. Voltage divided by current equals ohms. This is in dc circuits. Current is expressed in amps.
You might want to take a basic course in electronics. That will help you more than you can imagine at this point.

Colin Mitchell

Aug 31, 2014