Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Replacing PCB mounted transformer

abunnyuk

May 25, 2021
Hi all.

I'm an IT engineer and whilst I can repair/replace the odd component, I'm no electrical engineer so apologies if I use the wrong language.

My partner has an 1981 Berlina sewing machine on which the PCB mounted transformer (literally) went pop.

The details of the original transformer are elusive but appear to be 240v input and a 9.7v output at 0.5va. The original was brown with 2 input pins and (what I believe are) 2 output pins, the latter of which lead me to be believe it was single output as dual out transformers I found online had 4 pins. I may be wrong.

I thought I'd found a suitable replacement part but it's not as wide as the original part, it's blue, and one of the output pins is not in the expected place compare to the PCB, but the PCB is very old and standards move on.

The original transformer (aside from a lovely crack) helpfully has zero identifiable markings on it. It did, however, have a custom plastic cover (presumably made by Bernina themselves) which has "240/9.7V - 0.5VA" written on it which is what I used when searching for a replacement part.

Here are various photos:
  • PCB top minus the transformer:
7tud9ann84171.jpg
  • Old and new transformers side-by-side (input pins on right):
028tmjov84171.jpg
  • PCB bottom and old transformer:
7pn843p394171.jpg
  • PCb bottom and new transformer. If the output pin in top-left was higher then would align with the hole on the PCB although it would still not be wide enough.
ew2fmno594171.jpg
  • Writing on the plastic transformer cover
IMG_20210525_142129.jpg

I would very much appreciate help with the following:
  1. Is my assumption that it's a single output correct? The PCB has 2 female terminals which 2 ribbons then connect to parts inside the sewing machine, so I'm wondering if that means it has 2 outputs.
  2. If it needs 2 outputs then would there be more output pins on the transformer?