Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Replacing batteries with USB power source

Beast-of-Burden

Sep 4, 2020
Hi all, I'm an (old) newbie here. I'm a 'jack-of-all-trades' type of hobbyist who dreams up different projects. I'm currently working with a portable item powered by two 18650 lithium batteries (in series). I want to eliminate the battery box (and batteries) and power it with a USB cable & a USB power source generally used as backup for phones. Any cautions or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

kpatz

Feb 24, 2014
18650 batteries have a nominal voltage of 3.6-3.7V each (a bit higher when fully charged and lower when discharged). 2 in series will be 7.2V or so, while a USB power adapter provides 5V. You'll probably need a boost converter to bump the voltage up from a USB charger.

How are the batteries charged in the device? Does it have a USB charger already? Or do you have to pull the batteries and charge them in an external charger? If there's a charger built in, it may have a boost converter, but OTOH, lithium cells are usually charged individually and not in series, so it might not.

What is the device, and can you post PCB pictures? It's possible the device runs on 5V or 3.3V and uses a buck converter to lower the battery voltage.

Beast-of-Burden

Sep 4, 2020
Thanks for the reply...It's an infrared camera & an 5" LCD monitor screen. No it doesn't have a charger it's just 2 batteries in a plastic attached box. I understand the voltage isn't the same just didn't know the tech of what I needed to get to adapt the USB power source.

Beast-of-Burden

Sep 4, 2020
Is this what your referring to?
DC-DC Boost Step Up Converter 4.5-32V to 5-42V 5A Adjustable Power Supply Module

dave9

Mar 5, 2017
Yes something similar, though you don't need as high as 5A since your USB supply won't be able to deliver anywhere near that.