Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Replace Photoresistor with Solar Cell

galantida

Oct 27, 2012
Hello All,

I am an electronics newbie with only a few projects under by belt. My current project it to create a target that when shot with a laser will fall over. Basically a solar cell which will trigger a transistor which will allow a 9 volt battery to power solenoid to knock the target over.

Right now I am trying to take simple night light circuit where a light comes on when its dark and replace the photo resistor with a solar cell. Since solar cells are a lot bigger target.

https://www.digikey.com/en/maker/blogs/2017/night-light-circuit-using-a-pnp-transistor

I want the light to go out when the solar cell is uncovered rather then when a photoresistor is uncovered. Every solar circuit I find on the internet wants to power the entire circuit with the solar cell or charge a battery with the solar cell. Neither of which I need for my project. I actually prefer having a regular old 9V battery in it.

I think its having a transistor connected to two different power sources that is throwing me. I have the Base of PNP hooked to the solar cell, the Emitter hooked to a 9 volt battery and the collector to the solenoid.

Any advice, or design direction I should explore.

Hopup

Jul 5, 2015
But why would you want to use solar cell instead? Might be easier with simple optics layer top of photo sensor.

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
If you solar cell puts out more than a half a volt, it is actually multiple cells in series. In this case, all of the cells must be activated ti get an output. In other words, illuminating a small part of the solar panel with a laser dot will not work.

Bob

galantida

Oct 27, 2012