Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Replace 9Volt Battery with Solar Panel

rabbithutch

Jun 22, 2018
Howdy All!

I'm new to electronics (at age 76, still trying to learn) and new to Electronics Point; so please be gentle.

I have some motion detectors on my property that operate from common 9 VDC batteries. They are located on gable ends nearly 20' above grade level. Replacing batteries requires climbing a ladder. SWMBO doesn't like to see me on a ladder and to tell the truth I don't do it nearly as well as I used to do; so I was wondering if it might be possible to install a small solar panel for each detector to displace the batteries.

I've found some Radio Shack new old stock panels that produce 12 VDC at low amperage. Is this a doable/feasible project?

Thanks in advance.

Admins: If I've posted in the wrong place, please move the post appropriately and send me a chastising note.

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
I'm new to electronics (at age 76, still trying to learn) and new to Electronics Point; so please be gentle.
Good for you, and welcome to the forum.

You need to determine how much current the motion detectors use. As an aside, what do they do when they detect motion?

Do they have to operate after dark or on cloudy days? If so, you need to have a battery that is charged by the solar panel for operation when the sun is not out.

Bob

rabbithutch

Jun 22, 2018
Good for you, and welcome to the forum.

You need to determine how much current the motion detectors use. As an aside, what do they do when they detect motion?

Do they have to operate after dark or on cloudy days? If so, you need to have a battery that is charged by the solar panel for operation when the sun is not out.

Bob
Thanks, BobK!

The detectors send an RF signal to a receiver inside the house that uses mains current to emit beeps. The number of beeps indicates which detector was triggered.