Maker Pro
Maker Pro

repairing a LG model 42lk520

rebel90

Jun 3, 2012
I have a LG 42'' tv that im trying to fix but im new at this kind of work more of a hobbyist, anyway it will not power up at all it has a small erd light in the bottom right hand corner that comes on as soon as you plug it into a power outlet . now I have had the back off and checked for blown fuses and capacitors they all look ok and i have checked them with my meter which is only a cheap meter not a fancy one like i need , i have also checked the resistors as well they all look to be good as well checked them all , i cant find any burnt marks or discolor to the board . now a guy had given me the tv which is only about 4 months old and he said he thought it got hit with a jolt of lightening any help would keep me from pulling out what hair i have left lol thanks.:D

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
OK, lightning can cause lots of damage, and some could be totally invisible.

It's quite probable that the power supply is faulty.

However, without experience, this is a particularly dangerous thing to be playing with as it has high voltages present.

Looking for obvious damage is the first step and you've done that.

The next step is to check some of the "usual suspects", and for switchmode power supplies that includes the rectifiers and chopper transistor(s).

One quick question... Does the power supply make a single click (or any other sound) when you try to turn on the TV?

rebel90

Jun 3, 2012
hey thanks for the reply , and no it doesn't make any sounds at all .