Connect with us

Renewable Energy

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by davez, Oct 19, 2014.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. davez

davez

Oct 11, 2014
    I need help in my electronics projects I am making a mini wind turbine. If I used a DC motor do I still need rectifying diodes?

2. KrisBlueNZ

KrisBlueNZ Sadly passed away in 2015

Nov 28, 2011
    You won't need diodes to rectify the supply from the motor, but if you're charging a battery from that motor, you will need some way of preventing the battery from back-feeding into the motor. If you're using some kind of charger (and you probably should), it probably includes that feature. You may also need some kind of smoothing circuit across the motor to keep a steady voltage at the input to the charger.

This is just a provisional answer. I have no experience with wind turbines. Other people here can give you better, more specific advice, especially if you tell us more about the project, including part numbers and specifications for the parts of the system - the turbine, the charger, the battery, etc.

3. davez

davez

Oct 11, 2014
    howw can i prevent the battery from back-feeding into the motor?

4. davez

davez

Oct 11, 2014
    hmmm im just making a simple wind turbine using a 12v motor hehe but i think its not strong enough i dont have enough money to buy big dc motors :( :D

5. KrisBlueNZ

Nov 28, 2011
    You can start by telling us everything you know about your project. There are many answers to that question and lots of important variables that we don't know about. For example:
    • What is the battery voltage?
    • What is the battery capacity in amp-hours?
    • What is the power output of the turbine motor?
    • What is the power being used for?
    • What kind of charger do you have, or intend to use?
    And these are just the BASIC questions. Please don't just answer those ones. Tell us a LOT about your project.

6. BobK

BobK

Jan 5, 2010