Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Relay Buzzing

rTx

Oct 29, 2014
About 20 years ago, a friend (who I know longer have contact with) designed some circuitry to control my heating system. It involved the use of relays etc to switch things on and off. One of the relays buzzes like mad (suddenly). When I replace it with a new identical relay, the same thing happens to the new one. The coil side of the relay is 24V DC.

Opening up the box, I can see a circuit board with what looks like 3 diodes and a bridge rectifier. I can see a supply for 23V AC from a transformer. I think the diodes and the bridge rectifier are some sort of power supply circuitry to make the AC into DC. I am no expert though. Does this make sense? Is it likely that one of these components has failed and that AC is getting to the relay to cause the buzzing?

There is no obvious sign of failure or problems with the existing components.

I am up for replacing all the components but I am struggling to identify their specification. I can take a photo later and post if that helps.

shrtrnd

Jan 15, 2010
The components probably have identifying markings on them. You sound like you might know how to solder. If you (WITH THE POWER OFF/DISCONNECTED, OF COURSE), un-solder one leg of each diode, you should be
able to read the numbers on the parts. Yeah, your box sounds like a rectifier to turn AC into DC. If you have a bridge there already, those other three components might not be diodes. The part numbers will tell us.
And yeah, sounds like your relay buzzing is from a bad component or two in you rectifier box.

Reactions: rTx

rTx

Oct 29, 2014
Thank you for the helpful responses. Here is a picture of the four components:
CIMG1209.JPG

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
and a photo of the underside of the board so we can see how the diodes are connected
and another of the top side zoomed out a little more so we can see where the termination wires are going to

shrtrnd

Jan 15, 2010