Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Race Car Headlight Flasher

mr2daj

Aug 15, 2016
Hi, I wonder if anyone can help. I need something to flash the headlights on a race car. Flash to pass.

The lights would be on and when a momentary push button is pressed on the steering wheel the headlights need to turn off and back on repeatedly for maybe 5 or 6 times (from 1 button press). If possible i would also like it if when the button is pressed and the headlights are off the lights flash on then off 5 or 6 times.

only video I could find to give an idea is from a game/sim called iracing but will give you the idea of what I am after:

It would also be good if the headlights could continuously flash whilst the pit lane speed limiter is active but that is another project unless it can be combined.

so..... how can i do this?

BTW I don't have an electronics background. I am a mechanic/technician and consider myself competent in auto electrics. I have built full race car harnesses etc. but pretty basic stuff really.

Any help greatly appreciated!

Thanks, Dan

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
Microcontroller such as Arduino, push button as input, speed/movement input sensor for pits operation, sensor to detect whether lights are currently on or off also as an input. Output elements to control the switching of the lights and finally knowledge on how to connect everything together and also to program the micro.

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
If it's over your head now then any diagram would be a waste as there is also the programming.

The circuit you posted above would give you a flash circuit but that's about all.

If you went this way there would be many other logic requirements to give you what you need.

For a start, the output is only a 10amp relay.
Headlights alone at low beam would exceed the ability of this relay.

Micro is the way.

AnalogKid

Jun 10, 2015
An old statistic is that 40% ov the lawyers in the *world* are in the US. A chunk of that large price is liability insurance.