Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Questions on identification of used diodes

Robin777

Mar 26, 2011
Hi I am Robin and I am new to electronics. My dad was involved in electronics while in the Air Force and I alwayse have had an intrest but he died before we came to terms in our relationship where we could discuss this kind of thing. My question is there a way to use old diodes and electronic parts for new projects? And how can you tell what voltage they are and such? I know with resistors they have banding that is different colors and you can determin their values that way but with capicitors and diodes there seems to be no markings to make a determination. Any thaughts other than just buying new ones?

Resqueline

Jul 31, 2009
Life can be a paradox sometimes..
Capacitor types can be identified by their looks, and their capacitance can be measured with appropriate meters.
Diodes can be harder to identify, but many of their spec's can be still be roughly determined with suitable test setups.
Are they all completely unmarked? How about a pic of the items in question? A trained eye could say if it's worth the while to test them.

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
many diodes do have markings on them, 1N4001 etc 1N4148,1N914 etc

I have stripped 1000's of components off cct boards over the last 40 yrs for reuse in other projects. Its an awesome way get stock of general components and also of harder to get items.

cheers
Dave

Neight

Mar 28, 2011
since this is about diodes, what is the difference between zener diodes and any of the others. i know with Ge you get lower forward voltage drop and silicone are sort of the current "common" ones to use, but i recently took apart an old TV to look for some 1n34's for a project i am doing. what i mostly found in the television parts looked like pictures i found of zener diodes (clear case, orange core and black stripe at one end) and they are very small. anyone who could shed some light on this i would appreciate it
thanks

Neight

Mar 28, 2011