Connect with us

Questions About Torque In Servos

Discussion in 'Sensors and Actuators' started by Mastermind, Aug 29, 2011.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Mastermind

Mastermind

Jul 29, 2011
    Hi,

If I need a servo to simply move the angle of the camera up and down, how much oz- in of torque do i need? It is a simple security bullet camera. Also if I needed to move a hose up and down and I needed it to turn using two servos (basically pan tilt), how much oz- in of torque would I need? I'm not too experienced with servos. Sorry. I'll appreciate any help.

Thanks

2. trueblue

trueblue

Jul 26, 2011
    Well to calculate the torque you know the force of the camera (weight) and also the distance. Torque = Force x Distance.

Based on that information you can determine the torque you need for your application. Also, have you found servos for this application? This website http://anaheimautomation.com/products/servo/servo-products.php has a servo products which you may be able to use in your application.

3. Mastermind

Mastermind

Jul 29, 2011
    Thank you for the help. What would the distance be? How far it turns? Those servos are a lot more expensive then what I'm looking for. I'm looking for $20-30 servos.

4. Resqueline

Resqueline

Jul 31, 2009
    If the camera or hose is well balanced & hinged you'll need virtually zero torque, so it all depends on the mechanical solution.
    How about an RC-servo?

5. Mastermind

Mastermind

Jul 29, 2011
    That's what I am thinking. Any recommendations?

6. Resqueline

Resqueline

Jul 31, 2009
    Can't really suggest anything more without a load of additional information about both the items, the site, and your resources..

7. Mastermind

Mastermind

Jul 29, 2011
    Basically I am building a mount where I can move the angle of the camera up and down. Here's the link to the camera.
    http://www.123securityproducts.com/tn501r36.html