Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Question probably gets asked a lot but, where do I start?

Destryalhmns

Nov 12, 2011
Hello all,

I'm very new to electronics. I do have a degree in Computer Information Systems but really all that covered was how to program computers. My ultimate goal is to be able to write a program and hook it up to a circuit board and have the circuit board do stuff... blink a light or whatever. I realize it could take a year or two of studying before I can do this.

Where should I start? I went down to the library and got a book on the basic math of electronics which I read a lot of and now have a decent idea of how to find the values of V, I, R, and P in different parts of a circuit. But the book never really explained HOW those things translate into functioning electronic devices.

So my question is how can I learn more about this? Say I want to build some kind of simple circuit and actually understand how it works. What should I do?

Thanks for your help

jackorocko

Apr 4, 2010
start to look up circuits that come with helpful explanations. Find simple circuits and study them, it will become clear when you try to modify a small circuit to suit your needs. That is when you can turn theory into practice.

You could always try out a legend, reading is slightly advanced but it shows some very useful circuits.
http://www.amazon.com/Art-Electronics-Paul-Horowitz/dp/0521370957/ref=pd_sim_sbs_b_6

daddles

Jun 10, 2011
Here are two possibilities, both of which I've done. First, buy a selection of parts and learn to build some simple circuits that interest you. I find it best to build and troubleshoot a circuit that does something I want. You can find a gazillion different designs on the web and ask for design help on the forums.