Connect with us

Question in JFET pls

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by samurad, Oct 22, 2012.

1. samurad

samurad

Oct 22, 2012
    hi all

i am a beginner , and i have question in JFET , as i understand that the current flow between drain and source by changing VDS ( Ohmic region ), utill it will reach max when VDS =VP then if we increased VDS more it will lead us to the saturation region , then if we want control the amount of the current we can do it by increase the reverse voltage on gate by increasing the -ve value of VGS and it will increase the width of the deplation to be max by more -ve value of VGS till it will be zero drain current

So , if it is right , it means the vlotage in the gate VGS is not the main reason for flowing current in the transitor , it just controlling it is amount

hence , how we can say it is Bias gate voltage ?? , Bias means it it the starting point and main cause to let the tranistor work and flow the current !!

pls i need clarification for this point , thanks

2. Harald Kapp

Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

Nov 17, 2011
    The gate voltage controls the conductivity of the channel.
    The current from source to drain is driven by the drain-source voltage.

Compare this to a switch:
    You can open or close the switch (gate function), but current will only flow if a voltage cross the switch is present (source-drain function).

"Bias" hat nothing to do with aany "main cause to let the tranistor work and flow the current". Bias simply means to set the operating point.

Harald

3. samurad

samurad

Oct 22, 2012
    thank you for your reply , so in JFET , the bias voltage is control the channel conductivity and drain current but the main source for thr current coming from VDS