Connect with us

question about multimeter

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Neight, Mar 28, 2011.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Neight

Neight

Mar 28, 2011
    ok, i know this is going to be a dumb question, but i would really just like clarification.
    I have made a circuit and am testing it with a multimeter. to check volts i have to set it to the 200m setting to get a reading on the display. the display is reading 22.5. what exactly is this telling me.
    sorry for the noob question, but i am very new to electronics and had to borrow the meter to have one to use.
    if it helps, i am making a circuit to pull Rf and turn it into electricity. sort of a crystal radio without the radio part. i have put the circuit together right, and am trying to test how much power it makes. i am not expecting much, but i don't know what the number on the display translates into for actual power output. anyone who can help me clarify this would be enormously appreciated.

2. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    In the voltage range, 200m means that your digital multimeter will read up to something like 199.9mV. A display of 22.5 therefore indicates 22.5mV (22.5 thousandths of a volt).

If your meter has an input impedance of 1Mohm (which is typical) then you are currently harvesting a power of 5 x 10^-10 watts (0.5nW, or about one half of a billionth of a watt)

3. Neight

Neight

Mar 28, 2011
    excellent, that answers my question perfectly!!
    so far, if i let it sit and charge up the capacitors for a little while, i have gotten up to 4.2 volts, but it takes a while to charge up that high and is nearly instantly discharged when i put a load on it (piezo buzzer). I am guessing this is because i used silicone rectifier diodes instead of the Ge 1n34's that the instructions called for. unfortunately radio shack doesn't carry the Ge diodes anymore so i will have to order those to test my theory