Connect with us

Question about A/C electricity

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Joel1, Sep 30, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Joel1

Joel1

Sep 30, 2018
    I am new to dealing with A/C electricity. I know that when one is using D/C you just need 2 wires. However, with A/C I see that three wires are being used...why?

Also how does one split the electrical output of an A/C generator?

upload_2018-9-30_17-37-50.jpeg
    [​IMG]

2. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    Both AC and DC can be carried on 2 conductors.

Your 3 wire motor uses a pattern of three AC waveforms with a phase relationship to each other to make it work (I'm assuming here, because you don't give any information). When you soon it, you get a combination of three AC waveforms, one on each pair of wires.

What do you mean by "split the electrical output?"

3. Cannonball

Cannonball

May 6, 2017
    AC can be transmitted on two wires. The third wire is for safety. AC coming out of the main breaker box and has a white wire, a black wire and a green wire. All of the white
    wires are connected together and are called the neutral wire.
    The third wire is green and it connects to the metal part of switches and receptacles and goes back to the metal part of the breaker box.

If you exchange the white wire with the black any where in the circuit you will have short in the circuit which will trip the breaker in the main breaker to prevent anyone from being shocked.

4. Audioguru

Audioguru

Sep 24, 2016
    The motors shown in the photos look like small brushless hobby motors that have 3 wires, one wire for each phase of the AC. It looks like the motor in the second photo is a generator driving an LED and looks the same as motor talked about and driven as a windmill generator on another website.

5. hevans1944

hevans1944 Hop - AC8NS

Jun 21, 2012