Maker Pro
Maker Pro

PWM

TheLacasse

Jun 8, 2015
Excuse my english

Hi I'm a beginner in electronic I have a project in mind but I need your help. I want to take the output voltage of my iPod sound jack that is around 1.5v maximum and convert it into PWM so when the voltage is 1.5v the duty cycle will be 100% and when it is 0v the duty cycle will be 0%. The PWM will control a transistor that will control any type of light(LEDs etc). I would like to know if it could work and how I could do it.

Thanks!!!

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
Excuse my english

Hi I'm a beginner in electronic I have a project in mind but I need your help. I want to take the output voltage of my iPod sound jack that is around 1.5v maximum and convert it into PWM so when the voltage is 1.5v the duty cycle will be 100% and when it is 0v the duty cycle will be 0%. The PWM will control a transistor that will control any type of light(LEDs etc). I would like to know if it could work and how I could do it.

Thanks!!!
How deep down the rabbit hole do you want to go?
You can actually store audio files on your phone that play back a PWM waveform... run it into an opamp to buffer it and drive what you want.
If you want the volume out of the 3.5mm jack to control the PWM duty cycle, it gets slightly more complicated... (either making or purchasing a voltage - PWM converter)

poor mystic

Apr 8, 2011
Is the project to make lights controllable by sound volume?

oops a "post crash"...
Your ball, Gryd

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
I want the light to follow the music beat
You are in luck. Do you want to try a little research by yourself first?
You will need an amplifier to take the signal from your audio port to boost it to the desired level. (An opamp for this is perfect)
From here, the signal from the opamp goes to a Voltage controlled PWM chip and bobs your uncle!
(If you want to make your own PWM 'chip' you will need to 555 timer, a comparator and a few misc parts)

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012