Connect with us

Pulse Width Modulation Signal Stretching Thingy?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by bob83, May 11, 2013.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. bob83

bob83

May 11, 2013
    I'm a noob to this site - and about to embark on a journey of discovery as an under-educated electronics hobbyist - was wondering if I might ask for some advice.

To cut a long story short, I'm designing a project that will involve a pulse width modulation circuit to drive a servo. Unfortunately it will entail working with some very narrow signal pulse widths (as narrow as 0.000033 milliseconds), which I've worked out I'll need to stretch proportionately and accurately, by a factor of about x180, or minimum 0.00594 milliseconds, to do anything useful with.

Is there a way of doing this? I'm thinking of a capacitor/diode type setup - or failing that, something involving a 555 IC, but as I said, I'm hopelessly undereducated and can't quite work out how, or even if possible with such narrow pulse widths. Would be extremely grateful for any guidance.

Many thanks in advance :D

2. CDRIVE

CDRIVE Hauling 10' pipe on a Trek Shift3

May 8, 2012
  3. bob83

bob83

May 11, 2013
    Thanks Chris, for your warm welcome and reply.

Possibly not, since I've never actually held one in my hands.

But from what I've read up (which is along the lines of the info on your link), the angle the servo turns to (and holds itself at) is determined by the pulse width of a signal, i.e. 1ms pulses = 0 degrees, 1.5ms pulses = 90 degrees, etc.

So, by creating a pulse along those lines I could drive a servo?

If that is correct, then a pulse of 0.000033 ms would do little to drive a servo - which is why I'm assuming I would need to stretch it. A 0.000033 ms pulse stretched x 180, or 0.00594 ms would also be too short (0 degrees requiring 1ms) - but I'm not as far as that yet, for the purpose of this question I'm just interested in stretching it x 180.