Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Project: Wireless transmitters

Molson

Dec 8, 2011
Hello! I want to firstly say apologies for signing up and asking for help right away. I am in 3rd year as an electrical engineering technologist, however my electronic knowledge is not near most of you here. I've been focused more on power distribution, and the bigger stuff like that.

Anyway, as a large project this year, my team and I have been designated to create a device that releases air pressure from a tire, via wireless transmission. We have 8 months to do this, and the first 4 we have spent on the mechanical aspect. We have a working prototype that uses radio transmission to actuate a solenoid and release air pressure. This works well, but the problem of course is, we are electrical students and have spent the first half of this project doing mechanical! The radio transmitter we bought works wonderfully, but it should be something we design ourselves. We essentially used it as testing grounds for our prototype, and will be spending the next four months on creating our own.

My question to you all is this:
We want to create our own wireless transmission that can actuate a solenoid, therefore the circuit requires a small relay, and some sort of wireless transmitter. We also, however, want to be able to use piezeo electronics to measure airflow of the tire. Therefore, we need to transmit a voltage to a receiver. I know an easy way to do this is with ZigBee technology. But that brings us back to the problem that we did not create the ZigBee technology and basically makes this a mechanical project.

So what kind of transmitting device would be ideal in this situation? Specifically something we can build ourselves, that uses wireless technology, and that can send a voltage reading wirelessly so we can read it as air flow?

Thank you for your time.

davelectronic

Dec 13, 2010
Hi Molson.