Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Project: Speech controlled power supply and signal generator

putoknguso

Jan 30, 2012
Hi fellow electronics people, i'm a student and am working on my thesis project which is what the title said. using speech control on a power supply AND a signal/function gen.
I have a basic idea on what to do which is to interface a speech recognition module(w/c is not part of my design) into a MCU that can control the P.S. and signals gen. thats my idea so far, i need help on the following things
1. what mcu to use?
2. a little idea on how i can make the mcu control the P.S and S.G.
3. what S.G. to use (op-amp based / DSP based)
4. any help regarding this because i really have no idea how to come up with my project i'm still working on the early stages of it which is reviewing related lit.

thanks in advance, any help would greatly be accepted
(i forgot to mention that the amplitude are limited only to a 5 values of volts and exact increments for both the PS and SG, the frequency for the SG is also limited to 3 values of frequency 500,1k and 2k)

KMoffett

Jan 21, 2009
... interface a speech recognition module(w/c is not part of my design) into a MCU ....
Very important! > What are the outputs from the speech recognition module?
It will say a lot about what you can do with the MCU and the rest of the design.

Ken

putoknguso

Jan 30, 2012
Very important! > What are the outputs from the speech recognition module?
the output would be binary codes, tho i have to still train the module to output the exact binary codes for the exact words
is this what you meant?
thanks Mr. Ken

KMoffett

Jan 21, 2009
When you asked what MCU, one of the spec's will be what interface configuration would it need from the Speech module....8 bit parallel binary?, 16 bit parallel binary?, serial?, SPI?, I2C?,...?
Then you would need to know what inputs a power supply and signal generator would need, to spec the MCU output requirements.
Too many variables at this point.

Ken

putoknguso