Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Project Help-8 Channel Piezo Signal Booster/Mixer

FredF

Sep 16, 2014
Hi Everyone,
I would like to construct some type of signal booster/mixer for my electronic drum set. My idea is to be able too adjust the output signal from each drum and cymbal pad individually, before the module. The goal being, the ability to adjust the volume of all the pads "on the fly", rather than having to stop and adjust the internal parameters. Since the pads create the signal via piezoelectric disks, what would be suggested method to achieve this. I have tried regular audio taper pots, from 10K up to 500K, both before and after the amplifier, but was unable to adjust the volume. This is my first time working with piezos, so I'm really lost at this point. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
FredF

Audioguru

Sep 24, 2016
There are many audio mixer circuits in Google with a single opamp that allow each input to have its own volume control.
Please post the schematic of your mixer circuit that did not work.

FredF

Sep 16, 2014
Hello Audioguru,
Thanks for the quick response. Since I "cheated" a little bit, and used pre-assembled amplifier boards, the schematic that I am including is really more of a diagram. I also included pics of the board and slide pot for reference. Thanks in advance for any help.
Fred
Screenshot 2017-05-30 11.25.27.png XPT8871_AMP.jpg Photo May 30, 9 45 59 AM.jpg

Audioguru

Sep 24, 2016
The schematic and parts layout drawing of your Chinese amplifier do not match.
Does it have and where are Ri, Rf, Cin, and a 100k resistor and switch to SD pin 1?
It probably will not work if the Mode pin 3 is not high or low, if pin 1 is not grounded and if Rf is missing.
I also downloaded its datasheet and introduction but they are written in Chinese.

I do not know which pin is what on your volume control.

You show an amplifier with only one input. Where did you connect the other inputs? Where is the mixer circuit?

FredF

Sep 16, 2014