Connect with us

Project: build a 12/24v DC geny from 2 cycle engine

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Qualcomm_inside!, Jan 27, 2017.

1. Qualcomm_inside!

Qualcomm_inside!

Jan 27, 2017
    Hello.
    I am a novice electronics student and I am wanting to build a project.

I want to build, mostly from scratch a 12V DC generator from a small engine.
    I want it to directly charge and maintain a car battery ( or 2 ) .
    I also would like it to be completely self sustaining as in I want to charge a battery and keep it above 50-60%, igniting and stoping the gas engine when necessary.
    Can this be done?

For parts I'm thinking of using a small lawnmower engine and some kind of alternator. not sure if should use direct output of motor to drive shaft, or some kind of pulley system??
    I'm thinking more along the lines of a lawnmower engine mounted to a drive pulley and a belt to an alternator...
    Anyway, I need a circuit that can take 12v from a generator and charge my battery while detecting the batt voltage and cutting power, stoping engine when charged.
    Then, have the logic to restart engine once battery voltage drops down.

If I use a engine with a built in starter/ generator like you'd find on a lawn tractor, I could maybe reverse the power to the motor momentarily to ' turn it over ' and then flip back to charge mode.
    Also what about fuel mixture of engine??
    Need reliable fuel system that will fire on demand without choking and priming carburetor. Fuel injection kit ?

Any input would be appreciated,
    Thanks

Last edited: Jan 27, 2017
  2. Qualcomm_inside!

Qualcomm_inside!

Jan 27, 2017
    Any ideas?

3. duke37

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
    A gas engine should not need a choke like a petrol engine. A diesel should start reliably if you can crank it fast enough.