Connect with us

Programming c on raspberry pi

Discussion in 'Microcontrollers, Programming and IoT' started by Rajinder, Mar 18, 2018.

1. Rajinder

Rajinder

Jan 30, 2016
    Hi
    I am looking to program in c on the raspberry pi 3.
    It comes installed with NOOBS.
    Do i need to install anything else to get my c programs up and running ie complier or OS.
    I am a newbie to the raspberry PI so not sure.
    Thanks in advance.

2. hevans1944

hevans1944 Hop - AC8NS

Jun 21, 2012
    As a newbie, you should visit this page FIRST and then follow the links you find there.

3. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    Also note that any compiler you find will probably default to C++

4. Harald Kapp

Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

Nov 17, 2011
  5. Rajinder

Rajinder

Jan 30, 2016
    Thanks for the information. Even if the compiler defaults to c++, i think i can still use c ? Is that not correct?

6. Harald Kapp

Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

Nov 17, 2011
    Usually yes.

7. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    C++ is more strict with types than C. You'll find that some C code will require explicit type-casting in order to compile.

Also there are more reserved words in C++ and if you choose one as your variable (or more likely you are compiling some code where someone else has used one) then you'll have some trouble.

If you want a longer list, see here.

8. LukeDupont

LukeDupont

Apr 15, 2018
    It might do you some good to familiarize yourself with Linux. Grab an ISO of Ubuntu or Linux mint, install it on a virtual machine like virtualbox or an unused PC laying about, and use it for a few weeks as your main computer. Learn to install packages, find your way around the terminal, and compile using gcc. You might even find you like it better than Windows or MacOS, if you're like me.