Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Programming Atmega 328

Blue_fog

Nov 30, 2011
Hi,

I am new to the micro controller world and want to start learning stuff. I want to program an Atmega 328 on a breadboard. I have made the power circuit on it and have a "clean" 5V supply on it for the MCU to work. Now I want to know an easy way to be able to program it from my desktop. I have been searching things out for the past couple of days but nothing is making any sense to me. I am confused about connecting the chip to my PC.

Preferably, I want to do it on a USB port but most of the tutorials out there suggest using serial. I read about the MAX232 IC and related things. But I want to do things with USB. So I noticed something about the FTDI chip. Please tell me an easy way to program the MCU that's not all readymade (ie. I want to learn something out of this interfacing thing.)

Thank you in anticipation.

:)

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
The ATMegas are not per se programmable via USB. You can buy USB in-circuit programmers for ATMegas (just Google). Or you can build your own.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
You can but a USBTinyASP for under $5 delivered.

Another option is a usb to serial port. This will work if the arduino has the bootloader installed.

A serial programmer is generally a real pain in the bottom to get working. (and you can't program the bootloader with it.

If you have an arduino, you can load the app which turns the arduino into a programmer for these chips. This will allow you to bun a bootloader, after which things are a lot easier.

robertgzzzt

Jun 26, 2013
Hi Bluefog, welcome to the forum. I am also very new to the world of micro-controllers, but I have managed to program a sketch onto a standalone ATMega328 chip (with bootloader pre-installed) on a breadboard.

1. You need to tell us what Arduino hardware you own aside from just the Atmega328 chip.