Connect with us

Programable commutator

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Gerard, Jul 10, 2015.

1. Gerard

Gerard

Apr 22, 2015
    Hello,
    First I want to introduce myself and my project. I'm a geologist from Spain and i trying to make a geophysics equipment, but I need to do some wierd switching in my equipment and I don't know how to do it. It's hard to explain but I think the video explains it better. I'm sorry about the text in Spanish but it takes a lot of time to redo the whole gif thing.

The circuit works at 220 DC; the geophysics I'm doing requires high potential, so I take 12V DC battery and I use an regular inverter to boost the voltage to 220V AC, and I need direct current, so I use a rectifier bridge to put it back to DC.

There's 4 electrodes plugged on the ground (Because I want to measure resisitivity of the ground). one of them injects the current and other closes the circuit. Between those 2 there's another 2 mesuring the voltage. Then I need to switch those electrodes to take data at different depths and diferent sites, and there is where the problem comes. I have no idea of what could I use to achieve that. The sequence of switching is the one on the video. If anyone is interested this is called earth resisitivity imaging (ERI).

If you have any doubts just ask them freely.
    Thanks a lot,
    Gerard

2. Harald Kapp

Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

Nov 17, 2011
    Bienvenido a electronicspoint, Gerard.