Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Problems building first circuit - capacitor ESR meter

Jaynuts

Mar 11, 2012
Hello

This is my first real circuit built only from schematics. It is for my physics A2 coursework. The circuit operates on monostable 555 IC and is powered by a 9V battery. It is SUPPOSED to display and ESR of a capacitor that i connect to the terminals, on the analogue display. Unfortunately i get no result on the display. I have built 2 circuits: 1 at home and one in classroom - both seem to have a normal current flow through whole circuit (no short circuit) but i get no indication of ESR. I'd be grateful for any help regarding my non-working circuit. I will link an original website as well as pictures of my circuit from classroom. As i said this is my first time so be gentle :)

(also i do realise that the rightmost resistor is in wrong hole i did change that and still no luck).

Thanks, any help would be appreciated.

Original Schematics Website (it's in czech but really the schematics matters),

Attachments

• case1.jpg
    case1.jpg
    148.5 KB · Views: 5,892
  • case2.jpg
    case2.jpg
    154 KB · Views: 4,774
Last edited:

jackorocko

Apr 4, 2010
Ok, well if you want help you will need to fix the link to the schematic and also link to the real photos and not the thumbnails.

As a start I would connect pin4 to Vcc, so you can at least eliminate that issue.

Last edited:

Jaynuts

Mar 11, 2012
Pin 4 is the 555's reset and it is active low.

I'm sorry to be a pain: what is "active low"? And why do i need to connect to reset if i use 555 as monostable? (sorry i'm new to this.) Also how can i check the resistance with my multimeter? The analogue meter is at school i only have a digital multimeter with me and when i set to ohms it shows same value when there is a capacitor at Cx and when there is a wire at Cx.

Thanks

Attachments

• case3.jpg
    case3.jpg
    125.2 KB · Views: 1,560
  • case4.jpg
    case4.jpg
    144.4 KB · Views: 1,846

jackorocko

Apr 4, 2010