Connect with us

Problem with a homemade ECG

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by rjng, Jul 6, 2013.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. rjng

rjng

Jul 6, 2013
    Hi guys!

My first post!

I'm a medicine student and a hobbyist in electronics.
    I have been trying a circuit to make a homemade electrocardiograph (ECG). I know it will be very hard to make a good device cheapest. Well, the fun is try!

The best I did was this project here: http://www.eng.utah.edu/~jnguyen/ecg/ecg_index.html

It worked very nice. And more - using knowledge of cardiology, I could expand the possibility of using the device, getting 12 views of ECG (instead of the standard 3).
    The circuit is here: http://www.eng.utah.edu/~jnguyen/ecg/bigsch.gif
    Notes:
    IN- and IN+ is an electrode (for arm or leg)
    BODY is like a "ground", putted in right leg.
    Three electrodes is the basic of ECG.
    Nice.

After some tries, I get a good result! I was really pleased.

But there is a good problem. Understandind the standard of waves, we can detect a strange behavior of the wave. Look this image: http://s9.postimg.org/woxaexn7j/Problema_com_ondas_1.jpg

After the big peak, I got a wave like a sine wave, first positive and after negative, until reach zero again. It cannot be right. This wave, in this case, is just positive! It occours in the original project (in that link above) too.
    Another problem is the "wrong zero" - biologically, where I wrote zero is real zero, and where is Wrong zero, have to be zero (its a ECG of mine, and i know im normal, or it could be an infarct! but the last image shows i'm normal :) )

So, my question is - would you have any suggestions for changing the circuit to fix these problems? I have no idea.

Thanks!!

2. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010