Connect with us

powering 36 DSLR cameras from a single powersupply

Discussion in 'Power Electronics' started by Adrian S, Jan 4, 2019.

1. Adrian S

Adrian S

Jan 4, 2019
    Hi there.

I am a total novice when it comes to understanding power supplies and the like. Last year I built myself a multi-camera rig in order to produce realistic human 3D models for animation. I am looking this year to improve on my build. One such area for improvement would be its power supply. Currently each camera has a dummy battery connected to a mains transformer ( https://www.amazon.co.uk/PremiumDigital-Canon-Replacement-Power-Adapter/dp/B00841UIOU )... very messy cables and lots of multi plugs. I would like to remove all the individual power supplies and replace them with a single transformer or even a couple to service all the cameras. At the moment the rig uses 18 canon eos 400d cameras but I plan to double this number so wish to accommodate scalability. Any formulas on how to calculate what I would need a transformer to deliver or any help/guidance would be much appreciated (I do dislike having to cable tie transformers together to try to make them tidy)

2. BobK

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
    Easy. Multiply what one camera needs by 36. The current that is, the voltage stays the same.

Bob

3. Adrian S

Adrian S

Jan 4, 2019
    Thankyou Bob that does make it sound easy :) So.... how would i work out what each camera needs..... the only figures I can see are DC 8.1v on camera body, 7.4v 720mah on batteries and output 7.4v 2A on the power adapters. Is there a way I can test the current draw of the camera or should i use the batteries 720mAh (7.4v 26A) or the power supplies 2A (7.4v 72A) as a guideline ?

4. BobK

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
    Do you have a multimeter?

It does not use 2A or the battery would last about 20 minutes at most.

Bob

5. Adrian S

Adrian S

Jan 4, 2019