Connect with us

Powering 2 Devices from 1 Adapter

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Last_Mavrik, Nov 15, 2012.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Last_Mavrik

Last_Mavrik

Nov 15, 2012
    Hey everyone,

This is my first post, and I'm not precisely an Electronic's Genius, but I have plenty of soldering experience, basic Electronic Priniciples training, and a descent amount of electrical troubleshooting experience. What I lack is knowledge of circuit boards and the components there-in, so I find myself here with the following scenario:

I need to run 2 separate devices that each reaquire a 12 Volt DC input. Both are in close proximity to eachother and are wired into the same controll box. Currently, I have a pair of 12vDC power adapters feeding into separate power jacks in said controll box, and then to their respective devices. My question is:

Q: What would I need to run both devices from a single power jack without risking overloading either device? (E.g. what voltage adapter and/or internal electrical components to safely split the DC input between the two.)

Last edited by a moderator: Nov 17, 2012
  2. CocaCola

CocaCola

Apr 7, 2012
    The devices will only draw the current they need... You need a single power supply that supplies in excess of the combined draw of both devices...

Say for instance device one has a 12V @ 750mA adapter and device two has a 12V @ 1A adapter you should choose a 12V @ 2A (12V @ 1750mA minimum) supply to run them both...

Mind polarity and mind if they are both DC...

3. Last_Mavrik

Last_Mavrik

Nov 15, 2012
    Makes sense. To be a little more specific, it's a camera system, and both the Camera assembly and the monitor take identicle 12v DC power adapters. I'm not sure of the Amps, but that would be because I took Electronic Principles over 5 years ago and haven't used power measurements beyond ##v DC since. :p