Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Power Supply / Ciruit Noob help!

CSutton

Sep 19, 2014
I apologize in advance is this is a stupid quesiton. I am a beginner when it comes to electronics and this idea may be completely off base.

I am trying to setup LED lights in a garage. These will be 12v DC powered light strips, and I would like to have them come on via a normal wall switch OR when the garage door is opened. I will be hacking the garage opener to use 120v that normally goes to the light on the opener. I also have a wall socket that I can just plug into for the wall switch.

My question is, if I hook up two 12v power supplies and attach them in paralell, would they fry the LEDs if both were turned on? Is there some kind of switch before the LEDs that would only allow one input at a time?

The ideal solution would be to actually have a single power supply that would accept 2 120v inputs w/ a single 12v output. I have searched and I am not sure which direction would be best / safest / cheapest / even possible. Any guidance would be appreciated. Thanks!

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
Edit: Welcome to Electronics Point :)

Your simplest solution would be to use a relay with a 120V AC coil, with its coil connected to the 120V AC from the garage door opener, and its contacts connected across the contacts of the wall switch.

When the garage door opener is active, and sends 120V AC through to its light bulb socket, that voltage would activate the relay. The relay contacts would close, and create a path across the wall switch, connecting the 120V AC from the wall socket through to the power supply.

Turning on the wall switch would also connect the 120V AC from the wall socket through to the power supply.