Connect with us

Power for Multiple DC Motors

Discussion in 'Sensors and Actuators' started by Kiatu24, Aug 4, 2014.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Kiatu24

Kiatu24

Jun 2, 2014
    Hi everybody. First I'd like to say I'm relatively new to the world of electronics. I'm an experienced programmer and am trying to venture into electronics. And I'd also like to say sorry if I posted this in the wrong spot or if there's something else similar to this I missed. I've looked many places but can't seem to find anything relevant. I might just not know the correct terminology for the problem I'm facing.

So my goal, is to have 4 DC motors being controlled by an Arduino. The motors I've got are 9-18V DC motors and I'm currently powering them with 8 AA batteries for a total of 12V. I'm using transistors to control them from the arduino. Everything coding and control wise works as I expected, but I'm having some difficulty with the power supply.

When I hook up all 4 motors, I notice a pretty steep voltage drop. It usually ends up around 6-8V instead of the full 12. I've tested the batteries with a multimeter and it says 12V by inself and with one motor hooked up to it. Then as I add each motor, it drops. Then I tried to hook up two 9V batteries in series to get 18V and it performed even worse than the 12V. I'm still pretty unclear on how amps affect everything. So I apologize if this is a stupid question. But any light anyone can shed would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,
    Kiatu

2. Arouse1973

Arouse1973 Adam

Dec 18, 2013
    Hello