Connect with us

Power adapter modifications. + & - ??

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by unlimited, Nov 22, 2014.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. unlimited

unlimited

Nov 22, 2014
    I'm an amateur punter on here trying to find some assistance with a challenge I've come up against with little something I'm putting together.

The idea is to by pass the need for 9V batteries and or inverters and 240 supply alternatives to this audio mixer.

http://www.behringer.com/assets/1002B_P0A04_M_EN.pdf

I have a 12V battery source and have been attempting to connect that to the 9 Volt battery terminals in the mixer via this power adapter.

http://www.electusdistribution.com....ywords=mp3478&SPECIAL=&form=KEYWORD&SUBCATID=

The mixer uses 18v from two separate 9v batteries with a third battery providing 9v power to a phantom powered microphone line.

I've modified the output lugs on the power adapters to plug directly into the 9v battery terminals in the mixer switched them on and nothing happened. I have since diagnosed that the two batteries are in a 9v+ and 9v- arrangement that normal 9v batteries can handle however and the power adapters I have will only work in the + and hence the system is not working.

So I need to asses if anyone knows of a relatively cheap 12v-9v power adapter that works in the + and the - or advice on how I might make a custom circuit of my own to address this challenge.

2. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    If I understand your question correctly, you want a "negative voltage regulator". Something like a 7909. However, if you are using those cheap switchmode DC-DC converters (which I WOULD NOT advise for the phantom power to the mic, or indeed for your mixer) then there are configurations which invert the output voltage. This would allow the one 12V battery to produce both +9V and -9V.