Connect with us

PopularAltering a LED Flasher Circuit? - Will it support MANY LEDs???

Discussion in 'LEDs and Optoelectronics' started by auslander, Jul 18, 2013.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. auslander

auslander

Jul 18, 2013
    Hello All,

I have been trolling the forums for about a week or so and decided on a good first post. Im still new to building circuits, but have a little experience when it comes to rigging up LEDs. I finally decided to get around to making a flashing circuit. I built one, but I think I am seeing a problem that will arise as I make changes. Let me explain:

I have built this circuit...I have seen variations of this circuit around. some have different resister values and another curcuit that I have as a kit I bought also includes two potentiometers. Anywho, this is the specific circuit using a single 9 v battery:
    http://wild-bohemian.com/electronics/flasher.html(it is the very first circuit you see on the page)

It works great for the 2 LEDs it shows you to use. My situation is that I am using much more than just two...In fact, on a project I am wanting to work on, I will probably be operating more like 200 LEDs off of the circuit..
    (using may different LEDs in series to equal 9 volts)

Would someone be able to help me understand what I may need to alter with this particular circuit in order to be able to drive so many LEDs?

If any additional info is needed, feel free to ask and I will answer to the best of my abilities. Im still a n00b when it comes to circuitry. :D

2. GreenGiant

GreenGiant

Feb 9, 2012
    The problem you will run into with this is the 2 LED's in the circuit are drawing somewhere around 12mA each, accounting for some loss and the power consumed by the rest of the circuit you can reasonably say that 30mA is constantly being drawn from it.