Connect with us

Please help me with this 4017decade counter and 555 timer. I am a beginner

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Vignesh0025, Jul 11, 2013.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Vignesh0025

Vignesh0025

Jul 4, 2013
    Hello,

I am a newbie in electronics. Some days ago, i managed to make a running led display using 4017b decade counter and 555 timer(and made another on with 4026 decade counter with a seven segment display and same 555 timer ) and also uploaded to youtube to show it to my friends. It was working perfect that day :eek: and i disassembled everything from the bread board after that.

Here is the circuit!!
    http://www.technologystudent.com/elec1/count1.htm

Here goes the output i got a week ago

Here is the out put i got yesterday

Yesterday, I made the same circuit but now it is not working.!!!! . I checked twice the circuit, I changed the ic4017 three to four times, I changed the 555 timer, even i bought a new bread board and tries with it also. But it's not at all working. I checked everything. But I am not able to identify the problem at all.

Not only that, instead of 4017b, i tried with 4026 decade counter and the seven segment display is scrambling and like anything and showing some random things. Please help me!!! I am really tired and fed up with this electronics. The only thing is that 555 timer produces pulse as expected. I tried a LED with its output. Its blinking as expected.
    But none of the other things are working!!!! :( :( :( :( :( :( :(

2. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    First thing to do is to wire up a LED with a 1k resistor to the output of the 555. That way you can check that it is oscillating correctly and see what happens on each transition.

Have the speed nice and slow so you can see what's going on.

I suspect a wiring error or noise from the 555 interfering with the 4017.