Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Please Help! I need some expert advice to specify a component

Sean Coakley

Dec 18, 2014
Hi all
This is my very first time on here so a big hello to you all!

Can you please help, I need to build and design a device that can monitor when an electric hydraulic ram is being forced against its will in a rest state. I am unsure if when the ram is forced whether it generates a resistance and if so is it possible to use this to trigger a relay or similar or if I need to be looking at something that will need to monitor the hydraulic side of things, I am an electrician by trade so please forgive my lack of knowledge in this field??

Your help here would be gratefully received!

Kind Regards Sean

Arouse1973

Adam
Dec 18, 2013
Hi Sean and welcome. I don't know if your after a simple solution or if this will work. What about a simple micro switch which is triggered when the ram moves back beyond a certain distance. We call it a limit switch and if you could attach a plate of some kind to the ram you could put say a bolt through the plate, and have this activate the switch. Or something like that.
Thanks
Adam

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012