Maker Pro
Maker Pro

pir..110v or 12v?

Lucie99

Mar 8, 2016
Hello everybody :)

I wish to make a simple circuit, motion sensor to turn heaters on in my home, to help save funds during the cold winter months, and for a bit of fun to learn. I am a newbie, I know this is very very simple for most of you but it would be my most complex project so far

Goal: to build a simple motion sensor/pir circuit, to turn a relay on, with adjustable timing. e.g so I can adjust heater to stay on between 30 minutes to 3 hours, after motion is detected. I understand standard max heater draw is 1500 watts, so I will want a 15A relay?

I am trying to build this project from scratch, as opposed to picking up a cheap pir sensor from an old alarm system, even though that would be easier? My reason for doing it that way is simply I figured I would learn more...

Question one: Is it possible to keep the whole circuit 110v? e.g use a 110v pir instead of a 12v pir?
I dont know if its simple to include an onboard 110-12v converter? I wish to install this "inline" as my current heaters are hard wired. i.e I wish to avoid need to plug a transformer into an outlet, for space and simplicity and cosmetic reasons.

Question two: Adjustable timing: would I use an adjustable capacitor to get that sort of time range, or is there a better way?

Question three: am I better going with a solid state or mechanical relay? I estimate the relay would get tripped maybe 5 times a day, and be in the on position 10 hours a day.

Thankyou!

Lucie

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
hi there
welcome to EP :)

I am trying to build this project from scratch, as opposed to picking up a cheap pir sensor from an old alarm system, even though that would be easier? My reason for doing it that way is simply I figured I would learn more...

and if you screw up your 110V work, it might be the last project you ever work on
Do you really think you are skilled enough to work on mains voltages with high current ?

Lucie99

Mar 8, 2016