Connect with us

PIC interrupt routine help

Discussion in 'Microcontrollers, Programming and IoT' started by nepow, Jan 16, 2013.

1. nepow

nepow

Jul 18, 2011
    Hi, I need some help with an interrupt routine. I'm no programmer and use simple pic programming language with my projects. My program monitors a voltage on one of the ADC input ports, results of which btfsc goto function “a” or goto function “b”.
    However I want goto “a” to enable an interrupt routine. I have in the past used an external switch on PORT B, 0 to instigate an interrupt, but this time the interrupt has to be activated from with the program. Would appreciate any help please on how this can be achieved and with what instruction. Kind regards Nepow

2. gorgon

gorgon

Jun 6, 2011
    There are some loose ends here. When you say 'simple pic programming' I assume you think of Assembly programming.

You say pic, but not the type of chip you use.

I'm not sure what you really mean when talking about 'enable an interrupt routine'. Can you expand on this a bit? If you want to enable an interrupt, you need to decide which inbuilt interrupt source you want to use.
    If you on the other hand want to call a routine, you really don't need an interrupt, since you are already processing the 'call'.

So, please leave some more info on this.

3. nepow

nepow

Jul 18, 2011
    Hi gorgon, thanks for you swift response. Sorry I didn’t clarify my help request, the controller is a PIC16F870 and I’m using MPLAB ide with it’s built in simulator to build and run my assembly code. My circuit calls for one of the ADC’s inputs to continually monitor an external voltage level; at some point I need to stop the program to undertake another task of which when completed will return to the main program from where it left off. However, I may rethink the way this project is to function without the need of an interrupt for simplicity reasons. Kind Regards Dupe

4. CocaCola

CocaCola

Apr 7, 2012