Connect with us

Phototransistors

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by idris, Jul 17, 2011.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. idris

idris

Jun 19, 2011
    I'm new to phototransistors, and having looked at a few datasheets, it appears that unlike ordinary transistors they don't seem to list hfe.
    I'm probably missing the point, but what basic equations and/or parameters do you need when using a phototransistor as a voltage devider as an input to a comparator?

2. Resqueline

Resqueline

Jul 31, 2009
    Hfe is current gain. Phototransistors have photons instead of electrons as the base input and so you can't define gain that way.
    Phototransistors might have a Collector current [mA] per light intensity [Lumens] parameter instead.

3. idris

idris

Jun 19, 2011
    What are the important parameters when choosing which transistor to use?
    As far as I can tell the most significant will probably be ...
    • Emmiter Collector Voltage
    • Collector Emmiter Voltage
    • Collector Current
    • Collector Peak Current
    ...but I can't find info on how to factor these values into circuit calculations.

4. Resqueline

Resqueline

Jul 31, 2009
    Neither of the above (in ordinary applications). Try with sensitivity [mA/(mW/cm2)], peak wavelength [nm], max dark current [nA], half sensitivity angle [degrees], etc.
    Google "phototransistor" for further information.

5. idris

idris

Jun 19, 2011
    To be fair, I've been Googling on and off for several days and struggling to find the ansewer. But from your list, sensitivity sounds like the one I'm most interested in. Or possibly max current, if such a parameter exists.
    Thanks

6. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    Large current carrying capacity is generally not an issue. Phototransistors are very rarely used to switch an actual load, they are generally used to create a signal which is amplified.