Maker Pro
Maker Pro

PH Level meter.

dchurch

May 17, 2013
Hi all,

I'm a bit of a beginner at electronics, but have taught myself quite a lot over the last year or so.
I recently bought a PH meter on ebay, and have soldered the wires out of it and into a breadboard. I have put my multimeter across the two points in the breadboard and I get the reading on the meter.
I also have a usb Velleman card with two analog inputs.
I'd like to be able to read the input into the card so I can report the PH level of soil to my PC. The PC part and the card reading I can do, it's getting the signal to the card I am stuck with.
Can anyone point me in the right direction?

shrtrnd

Jan 15, 2010
Did your PH meter come with a probe, or did you just get the meter itself.
Most probes I've dealt with are for testing PH in liquids.
You might want to Google the model number of your meter, and get the facts about
it's required probe, and capabilities.

dchurch

May 17, 2013
Hi, thanks for the reply.

It's one of these:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/320845653364?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649

It is a meter attached to a probe. Inside, it has three wires. One from a light sensor, one from the PH and one from the moisture. These are controlled by a switch on the front. I have taken the wire from the PH lead to a screw terminal that I have mounted on the outside.
There is another wire that leads all three (depending on which is switched) to the meter; I have also taken that to a screw terminal on the outside to make amendments easier.

shrtrnd

Jan 15, 2010
You've got what you need, the probe and the circuit within the meter to read the values
from the probe. I regret I an unfamiliar with interfacing the the usb card with a PC in
an application like this. Hopefully someone familiar with the usb card will come on
to help you.
My experience with PH meters, is that the probe is designed to be read by the meter