Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Peltier Electronic Project Help

Ben227

Sep 11, 2014
Hi there, I am a complete beginner to electronics and my overall knowledge is very limited so bear with me.

I wish to power a peltier module and two fans using one power supply and have the circuit activated using a relay controlled by an Arduino Uno.
The peltier I have taken out of an old mini fridge is a TEC1-12705. Will this Peltier module be "powerful" enough to be used as a drinks cooler? Should I buy a different one?
The two fans run at DC 12V 0.19A.
So I want a power supply to power the Peltier and two fans. My problem is that I don't completely understand Amperage so I don't know what to buy or whether it would be able to power all of these components.
If somebody could give me a suggestion to how to power this project and suggest a specific power supply it would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
Ben

Last edited by a moderator:

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
hi Ben
welcome to the forums :)

The datasheet says that it will draw 5 Amps at its 12V supply
If it was running for reasonable periods of time, several hours at a time, I would be getting a PSU capable of 6 - 7 Amps
so that it wouldn't be working at its limit

Dave

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
(edit: thanks Dave for looking up the actual current consumption -- my figures updated)

There are a few issues:
  1. The peltier device will require the largest amount of current -- you need to determine what that is (was it a 12V fridge?)
  2. If you have a 12V supply, you simply add up all the currents. Say the peltier is 5A, the fans 0.2A each, and your assorted other electronics 0.1A. This means 5.5A are required. To be safe you might choose a power supply capable of 8A.
  3. You want to avoid placing the peltier device under cycles of thermal stress if at all possible (See point #19 on this page).
This document provides some useful generic information.