Maker Pro
Maker Pro

PCB manufacture

a.mlw.walker

Nov 15, 2011
Hi,
So Im not an electronic engineer, Im a mechanical engineer, but i need to get a simple circuit made up. I have designed the pcb in DesignSpark software, however I dont know how to export it - i mean what format etc.
Also how does it work with where the holes need to be drilled? Do I need to make up another file explaining where the holes are or can a manufacturer just see that from the pcb design?
Lastly, I need larger pads as they are not solder points for components, but again, how would I tell the manufacturer to drill holes there too?
Sorry might sound like a vague question...I'll upload an image

Attachments

• latest circuit.JPG
    latest circuit.JPG
    74.2 KB · Views: 326

OLIVE2222

Oct 2, 2011
Hi, and welcome to this forum.
The standard file format file to be used for export is Gerber. You need to generate a gerber file for each layer used. Indeed you need a NC drill file, with all holes positions and diameters. Your undrilled pads just need to have 0 as hole diameter.

Olivier

a.mlw.walker

Nov 15, 2011
Hello, thanks for answering. Have you used designspark? I havent made my PCB in a project - just a pcb file. I actually want those large pads to be drilled, but a larger size. Can I set that? For the NC Drill file, do I need to tell it where to drill or does it know, and just generate a file?
I have a dropdown called Ouput with the options DXF IPF and LPKF. mean anything?

OLIVE2222

Oct 2, 2011
Hi,

No i am not with designspark. Just having a PCB file should be OK

The NC drill file is "self contained" no need to tell anything, see here under:
http://www.apcircuits.com/resources/information/nc_sample.html.

If you want the large pads to be drilled you must place pads with holes not a fill area or something alike. You should be able to edit both pad and hole size in the software.Then it will be integrated automatically in the NC Drill file.